1.   Lions Bursary (rotated through 6 Bundaberg high schools)


In 1993 the Lions Club of Bundaberg received a legacy from the Estate of John Francis Novakoski of Bundaberg.  A short time later the Club was approached by the Farmers Federation to return to the Bundaberg community monies that had been collected in this area for a “fighting fund”, and was no longer needed.  With the blessing of the trustees, both monies were pooled to form the basis of the “Lions Club of Bundaberg Bursary”.  A donation by Hon. Lions Lady Alma Ing in 1999 was added to the principal, allowing the interest to be presented as the bursary. Bundaberg Lions Club also adds to the principle from time to time. In recent years interest rates have not been high so we do subsidies the Bursary. We have managed to set the Bursary at $500 for the last few years.

This bursary is presented annually, on rotation through six secondary schools in Bundaberg.  The relevant school principal chooses the recipient.

The selection criteria for the bursary winner requires the recipient

  1.  to have good scholastic results;
  2.  not be the recipient of any other school award or bursary;
  3.  to be involved in school activities outside the classroom;
  4.  to participate in other community activities; and
  5.  to be proceeding on to tertiary studies.

Bursary winners are set out in the following table.


2024                                      Shalom College
2023 Jordan Evans            Bundaberg North S.H.S
2022 Isabella Kerr             Kepnock S.H.S

2021 Breeanna Pegg          Bundaberg S.H.S

2020 Ainsleigh Morgan    Bundaberg Christian College

2019 Annebelle Sandker-van Grunsven   St Lukes College

2018 Olivia O’Beirne         Shalom College

2017 Miranda Steel            Bundaberg North S.H.S

2016 Brooke Roberts         Kepnock S.H.S

2015 Lachlan Russell         Bundaberg S.H.S

2014 Elizabeth Williams   Bundaberg Christian College

2013 Madeleine Sherry      St Lukes College

2012 Alice Galea                 Shalom College

2011 Jemma Heap              Bundaberg North S.H.S.

2010 Jessica Dickie            Kepnock S.H.S

2009 Brooke Phillips         Bundaberg S.H.S.

2008 Marissa Willett         St Lukes College

2007 Nicole May                 Shalom College

2006 Kelly Taylor               Bundaberg North S.H.S.

2005 Giau Nguyen             Kepnock S.H.S

2004 Danielle Thompson   Bundaberg S.H.S.

2002 Melinda Grills            St Lukes College

2001 Emma-Lee Whyte    Shalom College

2000 Peter Delley              Bundaberg North S.H.S.

1999 Karen Wherritt         Kepnock S.H.S.

1998 Elizabeth Grayson    Bundaberg S.H.S.

1997 Kathryn McDonald   St Lukes College

1996 Fiona Ridge              Shalom College

1995 Anne Galletly and Sherrin Lovell Bundaberg North S.H.S.

1994 Philip Biedermann      Kepnock S.H.S.

1993 Megan Burke            Bundaberg S.H.S.



2.   Lion Graham Plath Memorial Bursary (Bundaberg State High School)

This Bursary has been provided by the family of one of our charter members, Graham Plath in memorial of his Lions service. Lions support the bursary but do not administrate it.

Commenced 2022.

Year                Recipient

2022-2023       Daniel Anderson

2023-2024       xxxxx